#WriteClub Meets NaNoWriMo

Hey there #WriteClub-ers!

This is Darci here to ask your thoughts on an idea the Crew has been kicking around for a while.

Here’s the thing: #WriteClub began in October of 2012, and has grown like crazy. For our one-year anniversary, we’d love to do something special for you guys. And our chance is too good to pass up.

The first day of NaNoWriMo is a FRIDAY. We would love to get the whole world in on a #WriteClub sprint run lasting from the time the clock strikes twelve on Friday morning in Auckland New Zealand, until we pass midnight Friday night in Hawaii.

This would take a LOT of work.

The time frame would span just under FORTY-EIGHT HOURS.

We might die. Fair warning.

The jist of it is this: we’d love to do this for you guys, but we WILL need some help. Someone in Australia, someone in the Middle East or Eastern Europe, and maybe a backup person or two for each of them. We all have lives, and it’ll be hard to put everything on hold for a 48 hour writing retreat (although I’m thinking of doing just that) but even if we DO have free time, we all have to sleep at some point. So. We need backup.

 

The times would look like this:

(NOTE: Th = Oct 31st, Fri = Nov 1st, Sat = Nov 2nd)

NEW ZEALAND: 12am Friday – 10pm Saturday

UK: 1pm Thursday – 11am Saturday

US EAST COAST: 8am Thursday – 6am Saturday

US WEST COAST: 5am Thursday – 3am Saturday

HAWAII: 2am Thursday – 11:59pm Friday

 

What WE need to know from YOU is CAN YOU HANDLE IT?

 

It’s not set in stone yet, and this is not an official announcement. But if enough interest is there, we’ll do our best to make this work for you guys. It will be rough on us sprint leaders. We might get sick from lack of sleep, injured from typing accidents, or die from caffeine overload. You guys have to make it worth it for us. WILL YOU BE THERE? Answer on the poll, and leave a comment if you’ve got questions or if you’re interested in volunteering to help.

-DC

13 thoughts on “#WriteClub Meets NaNoWriMo

  1. Paul says:

    Only an occasional participant, but I’ll definitely try to be in for this, so long as my connection is working (always questionable). If it helps, I’m in Eastern Europe.

  2. I may have to stop for brief naps. Or maybe I can sleep for 48 hours it starts! Yeah! That’s the ticket!

  3. before it starts. That’s what I meant to say.

  4. Nikki Diehm says:

    I’m in boring old US Eastern Time Zone, but I’m happy to help out with sprints when I can! Awesome idea!

  5. darcicole says:

    Paul, can you DM us @FriNightWrites with what country/time zone you’re in? Thanks πŸ™‚

  6. I will do my best! I’ll definitely be writing … something for NaNo in November. If Oct 31/Nov 1 fell on weekend, it would be easier, but Thurs/Fri is work day. But yes, write on! Write ALL THE WORDS!

  7. I’m still new to WriteClub, but I am a NaNo’er and I do run word sprints as well. I don’t quite get how your times work, though.

    However, I am in South Africa, so I’m somewhere in the middle for everyone, if you need me. Just DM or mail me if you think I can help. πŸ™‚

  8. I may be a busy mother of six, but how hard can this be with all that Halloween candy just lying around. I’m in, but it will be pushed by a sugar high. Go Writeclub!

  9. shanbradshaw says:

    This sounds like the best ever possible way to start off NaNo with a bright red cherry on top!

  10. I’m new at this, so I’m not entirely sure what it’s all about…Is there somewhere I can read about what exactly #writeclub is so I can get all caught up? THANKS! It sounds kind of awesome! πŸ™‚

  11. You should do it saturday for the people who have the weekend off. Like 12am Sat till 12am Sun. Thats what I would do. Most people dont have friday off. Better chance with sat. Even though its the second day of NaNo.

  12. Oh yeah! I’m only Mountain Time Zone, but if you need the help, say so. I’m so doing this!!

  13. Johnd67 says:

    I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website baefdeeedked

Leave a Reply

